Week 1 Exploration: Web Basics

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-09 at 10.18.45 PM

 

My first impression of the lesson Web Design Fundamentals by James Williamson on Lynda.com was almost a sense of relief. We use websites everyday and I am intrigued to learn more. When watching the instructor write the code, it brought me back to the “MySpace” days, where I would edit the code to edit the page. It’s hard to believe that was 10 years ago, but it was interesting to learn more about the HTML markups that I played around with back then.

If I learned more about creating webpages, I could see myself creating a webpage for each of my entrepreneurial ideas, rather than have someone else do it for me.

It was interesting to learn about the different tags. This is one aspect of HTML I would like to learn more about. Opening tags, closing, head and body were a few I remember from the lesson. It was interesting to see the default settings in Chrome applied to the html code. Now that I am aware of these default settings, I can say I recognize then in most web articles.

Second, I would like to learn more about CSS <style>, or Cascading Style sheets, which controls the style of the text.

The third point of interest I would like to explore is JavaScript <script>. It was interesting to learn about these 3 features and how all of them work together. There are many functions and formulas to learn and am excited to understand the basics as a result of this lesson. I heard mention of variables, functions and formulas, reminding me of Microsoft Excel and Algebra.

As a result of this lesson, I will have more opportunities to control different features in HTML and CSS. Previous to this lesson, I didn’t realize how easy it was to understand the basic styles and behaviors of the content. There are so many choices when designing a web page. As the instructor mentioned, many web designers refine their skills based on their audience or product. Many designers use a “just in time” learning approach as their needs change. I will need to commit some to understanding HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. I could see myself working with these skills to enhance the user experience of web pages created for to promote my ideas in the future.

Leave a Reply

